Anna R. Haskins honored with a 2019 William T. Grant Scholars award

May 22, 2019

The William T. Grant Scholars Program has announced that alumna Anna R. Haskins (ABEd '03, TeachCert '03) is one of four recipients of its 2019 awards for early career researchers. Launched in 1982, the Scholars Program supports the professional development of promising researchers in the social, behavioral, and health sciences who have received their terminal degrees within the past seven years.


Anna R. Haskins will receive funding to execute a rigorous five-year research plan. She is an assistant professor in the College of Arts & Sciences at Cornell University. With her Scholars award, she will study whether and how involvement in criminal justice, immigration enforcement, and child welfare systems undermine parental involvement in children’s education. Her study comprises three complementary qualitative projects that will iteratively highlight mechanisms, processes, and meanings that can help explain associations observed in previous quantitative work. The first draws on in-depth interviews from system-involved parents, the second explores the perspectives of school personnel, and the third provides a contextual component by collecting school characteristics data via school observations.

Haskins, a quantitative sociologist with expertise in documenting the causal effects of paternal incarceration on children’s education outcomes, will develop qualitative research skills and acquire expertise in immigration enforcement. She will meet regularly with her mentors, Mary Pattillo, the Harold Washington Professor of Sociology and African American Studies at Northwestern University, and Catalina Amuedo-Dorantes, professor and chair of the Department of Economics at San Diego State University. Pattillo will mentor Haskins on qualitative field research methods, and Amuedo-Dorantes will lead Haskins in a directed study on the complexities and consequences of immigration enforcement within the U.S., particularly for children’s schooling.

Senior Vice President Vivian Tseng remarked, “We are thrilled to welcome these remarkable academics to the William T. Grant Scholars Program. Each of them is stretching their expertise and careers in exciting new directions so that they will be better positioned to tackle the challenges of inequality.”

Each year, William T. Grant Scholars are selected from a highly competitive pool of applicants who are nominated by their institutions. The applications are reviewed by a selection committee of prominent senior academics.


More News

June 26, 2020
CSHPE alumni Inger Bergom (AM ’08, PhD ’15), Pelema Ellis (PhD ’11), and Peter Bacevice (PhD ’10) co-wrote an article on student attitudes and health concerns about returning to campus in fall.
May 12, 2020
Liz Kolb, clinical associate professor of education technology and teacher education, is leading survey research on remote learning practices.
May 17, 2019
This spring, educational leaders from 10 top public research universities, led by an SOE alumna and faculty member, came together to focus on equity and inclusion in STEM courses.
May 10, 2019
Bernardette Pinetta received a Ford Predoctoral Fellowship, and she will be researching the ways in which teaching practices inform the development of youths' ethnic-racial identities and motivations.