Sunday, September 23, 2018

Don Peurach, Barry Fishman, and Tabbye Chavous appointed to Academic Innovation Advisory Committee


James DeVaney, Associate Vice Provost for Academic Innovation, announced the appointment of a new faculty advisory committee responsible for advising the Office of Academic Innovation on policies, activities, and investments to fulfill its mission.

Among the 13-member group are three faculty members with roles in the SOE: Barry Fishman, Professor of Information and Education; Don Peurach, Associate Professor, Educational Policy, Leadership, and Innovation; and Tabbye Chavous, Professor of Education and Psychology and Director of the National Center for Institutional Diversity.

In addition to forming the new committee, the Office of Academic Innovation appointed two faculty innovators in residence. Professor Barry Fishman and Professor Meghan Duffy are spending their sabbaticals at the Office of Academic Innovation. Both Fishman and Duffy will also serve on the Advisory Committee during their residence.

The Office of Academic Innovation is also facilitating several communities of practice which engage faculty from across academic units, with the aim of increasing adoption of innovative pedagogies and tools championed by faculty innovators. Current communities of practice focus on simulations, gameful learning, and public engagement, respectively.

Donald J. Peurach is Associate Professor

Tabbye M. Chavous is Professor; Director of the National Center for Institutional Diversity (NCID)

Barry J. Fishman is Professor, School of Information; Professor, School of Education

Within This Section

News by Topic