Sunday, April 22, 2018

Doctoral alums Davis, Flaster, Katz, and Parsons receive 2018 Dimond Dissertation Award


The recipients of the 2018 Stanley E. and Ruth B. Dimond Best Dissertation Award have been selected. The Dimond Best Dissertation Award was established to give recognition to the premiere doctoral dissertation completed in each of the four doctoral programs in the school in the prior year.

Stanley E. Dimond joined the faculty of the School of Education in 1950. His teaching, writing, support of master's and doctoral candidates, and national leadership in social studies and public education were recognized by the Regents of the University of Michigan as he was named, first, distinguished professor in 1966 and, upon his retirement in 1972, professor emeritus. Together with his wife, Ruth Bullis Dimond, Dr. Dimond encouraged several generations of students at the School of Education to persevere and excel in their chosen fields of inquiry and service. Professor Dimond died in 1989 and Mrs. Dimond in 1996. Prior to her death, Mrs. Dimond established the Stanley E. and Ruth B. Dimond Best Dissertation Award.

The 2018 recipients represent the best dissertation written by a candidate in each of the school’s four doctoral programs:

Natalie R. Davis
Doctor of Philosophy in Educational Studies (August, 2017)
Hope in Those Places of Struggle: A Critical Exploration of Black Students' Agency in One Place-based and One African-centered Elementary School
Chair: Carla O'Connor

Allyson Flaster
Doctor of Philosophy in Higher Education (December, 2017)
Paying Kids’ Way: Parental Financial Support and Adolescents’ College Choices
Chair: Steve DesJardins

Benjamin Katz
Doctor of Philosophy in Education and Psychology (August, 2017)
Moderators of Cognitive Training: Individual Differences and Motivational Factors
Chair: Priti R. Shah

Christopher M. Parsons
Doctor of Philosophy in English and Education (April, 2017)
Ideologies about Gender and Literacy in the Academic Lives of Young Men: A Qualitative Study in Three High School English Classrooms
Chair: Anne Curzan

Within This Section

News by Topic